Movies and Spices

October 2012

It took me a year to realise that keeping a journal of all our shared meals was a beautiful idea, so the first set of posts will be hazy memories. It’s a good thing I take so many photos as there is no better way to remember.

Our first proper meal together was also the first time I visited his house.

His flatmate made a vegetable tom yum soup and he made vietnamese summer rolls – both were very good, but I preferred the summer rolls.

I am a huge fan of tom yum soup, so i’ll include below a quick and simple recipe:

Tom yum paste
1 pack basil
2 sticks of lemongrass
5 kaffir lime leaves
Shredded ginger
Flat noodles
Tiger prawns

The selection of vegetables can be changed according to your individual preferance, I like to use quartered cherry tomatoes and sliced mushrooms however in the photo below pak choi and sugar snap peas were used.

Heat up some oil in a large pan (coconut if you have it). Fry 2 heaped tablespoons of tom yum paste (sorry, i’m not often bothered to make my own!) with 5 Kaffir lime leaves, 2 stock cubes, the shredded ginger, half the pack of basil, 1 stick of whole lemongrass and another stick of chopped lemongrass. Add some fish sauce and water and let it simmer away for 15 mins. Then add the vegetables and more stock and water and cook for another 15 minutes. Finally add the tiger prawns, noodles and the rest of the basil and season with lime.

photo

 After dinner we watched 3 movies – Mission Impossible 3, The Avengers and The Other Guys. I have very hazy recollections of all 3 movies as I am sure I fell asleep and missed most of the significant parts! I remember at one point during the avengers that a pulsating light staff appeared. Boys will be boys.

It was a pretty cold time of year and I made a huge pot of mulled rum to accompany the films.

Just a simple case of heating up some good quality (I used Copella) apple juice in a pan with cinnamon, cloves, brown sugar, nutmeg and a few cardamoms if you have them. Then when the apple juice tastes right, serve pour it into a glass with the rum (Captain Morgans Spiced is a good choice).

Leave a Reply

