To Sir Howard Davies

For three years and one more
(I suppose that makes four)
I have lived, wrapped up in LSE
A home that I hate and adore.

You very rarely crossed my mind,
Until the day that you resigned.
But your presence reassured me
In ways that cannot be defined.

I would just like to say –
Your performance in Platonov’s play
As Hoz or George Bernard Shaw
Really blew me away.

Now Houghton St. lies bereft
Your departure feels a bit like theft.
Who will preside over graduation
Now that you have left?

2 thoughts on “To Sir Howard Davies

Leave a Reply

